Where do we come from?

Success story family business

Dr. Wolff has always been in family ownership. Behind Dr. Wolff’s success are generations and people who put their heart and soul into the company. After Dr. August Wolff, Dr. Kurt Wolff and Doris Wolff, today the great-grandchildren Eduard R. Dörrenberg and Christoph Harras-Wolff are in charge of the company.

The era of the fourth generation, 1998 to present
2018

Eduard R. Dörrenberg returns to Bielefeld from Singapore after four years of successfully developing the markets in Asia.

2016

Doris Wolff passes away in September, aged 96. Following the death of her husband, Dr. Kurt Wolff, in 1978, she had built on his success, enjoying a fruitful 20 years at the helm of the company.

2016

Dr. Christian Mestwerdt joins Christoph Harras-Wolff and Eduard R. Dörrenberg on the company’s executive board.

2011

New machine technology enables the company to reduce production times. The equipment, which is developed exclusively for Dr. Wolff, cleans itself automatically and is notable for its increased flexibility when producing individual batch sizes.

2006

Christoph Harras-Wolff joins the executive board as Managing Partner, assuming responsibility for the Legal, Purchasing and Societies divisions.

2010
2005

A new training centre is inaugurated for the company’s 100-year anniversary. The training centre also contains a small museum recounting the history of the company. In its first year, 13,000 people visit the institute to further their training and find out more about the company.

1998

Eduard R. Dörrenberg takes over management of the company, and modernises it over the following years. Prominent marketing activities such as the “baldness calculator” and the “Doping for your hair” slogan boost the popularity of the Alpecin brand.

2000
The era of Doris Wolff: 1978 to 1998

Even while her husband, Dr. Kurt Wolff, is still alive, Doris Wolff plays an active role in the business, standing by his side and advising on several important decisions. Following his death in 1978, she takes on the management of the company, leading the Dr. Wolff-Group with humility, discipline and a sense of duty. However, her management style is also notable for her environmental work and her ability to connect with employees on a personal level. With Doris Wolff at the helm, the company overcomes significant challenges. The construction of a new production plant for the equivalent of 20 million euros is just one of the many far-sighted investments with which she puts the company on course for the success it enjoys today.

2010

To celebrate her 90th birthday, the Doris Wolff Foundation is founded to support scientific and educational causes; the work continues after her death.

1996

Connected to Bielefeld: Dr. Wolff donates the “Alcina Clock” in Bielefeld’s Jahnplatz square, which remains an important landmark for residents and visitors to this day.

2000
1994

In order to conserve resources, the various formulations are produced from top to bottom in the building, thus making optimum use of gravity. This environmentally friendly production method wins the German Environment Prize.

1993

Dr. Kurt Wolff’s new production facility is an outstanding example of pioneering technology. It clearly demonstrates the company’s focus on innovation – not just in terms of its products, but also with regard to the way they are produced.

1987

The construction of new production and packing facilities at Dr. August Wolff is one of Doris Wolff’s most important decisions, demonstrating her faith in Bielefeld as a site of success.

1990
1984

Doris Wolff led by example, displaying values such as honesty, stability and a down-to-earth approach. By building a training centre for hairdressers and cosmetics specialists at the company’s headquarters in Bielefeld, she improves the system for specialised training for Alcina partners, with a view to long-term collaboration.

1978

Doris Wolff takes over management of the company following the death of her husband, Dr. Kurt Wolff. She leads the company for more than 20 years.

1980
The era of Dr. Kurt Wolff: 1942 to 1978

In 1937, the 30-year-old chemist begins working at the family company. Five years later, he is running the business following the death of his father. Dr. Kurt Wolff sees cosmetics and skincare as scientific disciplines, working with dermatologists to develop new products. The first of his innovations is linoleic acid-based compounds. Dr. Kurt Wolff expands the company systematically over the course of his 36 years in charge. His gift for leadership, extensive scientific ambitions and straightforward approach transform his father’s firm into an international company focusing on pharmacy and cosmetics.

1950

The establishment of several training centres throughout Germany begins. Hairdressers and cosmetics experts are regular beneficiaries of the training, gaining additional qualifications.

1960
1946

By manufacturing care cosmetics with a scientific basis, the son of the company founder lays the foundations for a second, new company: Dr. Kurt Wolff Körperpflegemittel GmbH is born. The new company resumes Alpecin production and founds the Alcina brand.

1942

As soon as the Second World War ends, Dr. Kurt Wolff receives a permit from City Commander Major Douglas MacOlive to resume industrial production and begin rebuilding the company. The reason behind the decision is Dr. Wolff’s special centrifugal procedure for manufacturing insulin.

1938

Chemist Dr. Kurt Wolff researches linoleic acid and develops the first oil-in-water emulsion. This is later followed by Linola Fett for treating dry, itchy or cracked skin.

The era of Dr. August Wolff: 1905 to 1942

Born as a son of a pharmacist in 1872, Dr. August Wolff studies chemistry and pharmacy after graduating from high school, eventually receiving a PhD. In 1905, he founds a chemical and pharmaceuticals factory in Bielefeld under the name “Sudbracker Nährmittelwerke Vinces”, thus realising a long-nurtured idea for manufacturing medication in a factory. He is described as a hands-on, open-minded businessman with a good feel for brands and advertising.

1928

Intensive scientific research forms the basis for the development

of all the company’s products right from day one. In 1928, for example, Dr. Wolff’s research reveals the healing properties of tar, sulphur and salicylic acid for the skin, scalp and hair.

1930
1912

The Latin term “Vinces” (You will be victorious) in the company name is also used as a trademark for various products: “Sub hoc signo vinces” (Under this sign you will be victorious). This is the birth of the company’s first logo.

1905

Pharmacist Dr. August Wolff founds “Sudbracker Nährmittelwerke Vinces” in Bielefeld. In its early years, the company produces cough syrup, cod liver oil and various teas. One major success is the iron supplement Hämatopan.

Wo kommen wir her?

Erfolgsgeschichte Familienunternehmen

Dr. Wolff ist seit jeher in Familienbesitz. Hinter dem Erfolg von Dr. Wolff stehen Generationen und Menschen, die sich mit Leib und Seele für das Unternehmen einsetzen. Nach Dr. August Wolff, Dr. Kurt Wolff und Doris Wolff sind heute die Urenkel Eduard R. Dörrenberg und Christoph Harras-Wolff als Geschäftsführende Gesellschafter in der Verantwortung.

Die Epoche der vierten Generation seit 1998
2018

Eduard R. Dörrenberg kehrt nach vier Jahren erfolgreichem Aufbau der Märkte in Asien aus Singapur nach Bielefeld zurück.

2016

Im September verstirbt Doris Wolff im Alter von 96 Jahren. Nach dem Tod ihres Mannes Dr. Kurt Wolff im Jahr 1978 knüpft sie an dessen Erfolg an und führt das Unternehmen 20 Jahre sehr erfolgreich.

2016

Dr. Christian Mestwerdt tritt neben den Cousins und geschäftsführenden Gesellschaftern Eduard R. Dörrenberg und Christoph Harras-Wolff der Geschäftsführung bei.

2011

Dank neuer Maschinentechnologie können die Produktionszeiten minimiert werden. Die exklusiv für Dr. Wolff entwickelte Anlage reinigt sich automatisch und zeichnet sich durch eine hohe Flexibilität einzelner Losgrößen in der Produktion aus.

2006

Christoph Harras-Wolff tritt als geschäftsführender Gesellschafter in die Geschäftsleitung ein. Er verantwortet die Bereiche Recht und Einkauf und ist außerdem für die Verbandsarbeit zuständig.

2010
2005

Zum 100-jährigen Jubiläum wird ein neues Schulungszentrum eingeweiht. Darin befindet sich auch ein kleines Museum über die Unternehmensgeschichte. Bereits im ersten Jahr nutzen rund 13.000 Besucher das Institut, um sich zu informieren und weiterzubilden.

1998

Eduard R. Dörrenberg übernimmt die Führung und modernisiert in den Folgejahren das Unternehmen. Markante Marketingaktivitäten, wie der Glatzenrechner und der Claim „Doping für die Haare“, führen zu wachsender Popularität der Marke Alpecin.

2000
Die Epoche Doris Wolff: 1978 bis 1998

Bereits zu Lebzeiten ihres Mannes Dr. Kurt Wolff partizipiert Doris Wolff aktiv am Unternehmen und steht ihm in vielen wichtigen Fragen zur Seite. Nach seinem Tod im Jahr 1978 übernimmt sie die Führung des Unternehmens und lenkt die Dr. Wolff-Gruppe mit viel Bescheidenheit, Pflichtbewusstsein und Disziplin. Doch auch der persönliche Kontakt zu den Mitarbeitern und das besondere Umweltengagement prägen ihren Führungsstil. Mit Doris Wolff an der Spitze meistert das Unternehmen große Herausforderungen. Der Bau einer neuen Produktionsanlage für umgerechnet 20 Millionen Euro zählt zu einer von vielen weitsichtigen Investitionen, mit denen sie die Weichen für den heutigen Erfolg gestellt hat.

2010

Zum 90. Geburtstag der Unternehmerin wird die Doris – Wolff Stiftung ins Leben gerufen, die sich auch über ihren Tod hinaus für Wissenschaft und Erziehung einsetzt.

1996

Mit Bielefeld verbunden: Dr. Wolff stiftet die „Alcina-Uhr“, die seitdem für viele Bielefelder und auswärtige Gäste der Stadt zu einem bekannten Orientierungspunkt auf dem Bielefelder Jahnplatz geworden ist.

2000
1994

Zur Schonung von Ressourcen erfolgt die Produktion der verschiedenen Formulierungen im Gebäude von oben nach unten, um die Schwerkraft optimal zu nutzen. Diese umweltfreundliche Fertigungsweise wird mit dem „Deutschen Umweltpreis“ gewürdigt.

1993

Ein herausragendes Beispiel für zukunftsweisende Technik ist der Neubau der Dr. Kurt Wolff-Produktion. Das Unternehmen setzt damit klar auf Innovationen – nicht nur hinsichtlich der Produkte, sondern auch in Bezug auf die Produktionsweise.

1987

Der Neubau von Produktion und Konfektionierung bei Dr. August Wolff zählt zu Doris Wolffs wichtigsten Entscheidungen – mit klarem Bekenntnis zum Standort Bielefeld.

1990
1984

Doris Wolff steht für eine klare Haltung und vertritt Werte wie Bodenständigkeit, Ehrlichkeit und Beständigkeit. Mit dem Bau eines Schulungszentrums für Friseure und Kosmetiker am Bielefelder Stammsitz verbessert sie das System gezielter Schulungen und Weiterbildungen der Alcina- Partner mit dem Ziel langfristiger Kooperation.

1978

Doris Wolff übernimmt nach dem Tod ihres Mannes Dr. Kurt Wolff die Unternehmensführung. Sie leitet das Unternehmen für mehr als 20 Jahre.

1980
Die Epoche Dr. Kurt Wolff: 1942 bis 1978

Der Chemiker beginnt 1937 als 30-Jähriger seine Arbeit im elterlichen Unternehmen und übernimmt fünf Jahre später nach dem Tod des Vaters die Führung. Dr. Kurt Wolff versteht Kosmetik und Hautpflege als wissenschaftliche Disziplinen und entwickelt zusammen mit Dermatologen neue Produkte. Die erste von ihm initiierte Innovation sind Präparate auf der Basis von Linolsäure. In den 36 Jahren, die er das Unternehmen führt, erweitert Dr. Kurt Wolff es systematisch: Seine Führungsgabe, seine umfassenden wissenschaftlichen Ambitionen und seine Geradlinigkeit machen aus dem väterlichen Betrieb ein international angesehenes Unternehmen mit den Schwerpunkten Pharmazie und Kosmetik.

1950

Die Errichtung mehrerer Schulungszentren in Deutschland beginnt. Besonders Friseure und Kosmetiker werden regelmäßig geschult und weiterqualifiziert.

1960
1946

Der Gründersohn legt mit der Herstellung von pflegender Kosmetik auf wissenschaftlicher Basis das Fundament für die Neugründung eines zweiten Unternehmens: Die Dr. Kurt Wolff Körperpflegemittel GmbH entsteht. Dort wird auch die Alpecin-Produktion wieder aufgenommen und mit Alcina eine neue Marke gegründet.

1942

Dr. Kurt Wolff darf mit der Genehmigung des britischen Stadtkommandanten Major Douglas MacOlive unmittelbar nach Ende des 2. Weltkrieges die industrielle Produktion aufnehmen und mit dem Wiederaufbau des Unternehmens beginnen. Grund ist sein speziell entwickeltes Zentrifugalverfahren zur Herstellung von Insulin.

1938

Der Chemiker Dr. Kurt Wolff forscht mit Linolsäure und entwickelt die erste Öl-in-Wasser-Emulsion. Später folgt Linola Fett zur Behandlung von trockener, juckender oder rissiger Haut

Die Epoche Dr. August Wolff: 1905 bis 1942

Dr. August Wolff, der 1872 als Sohn eines Apothekenbesitzers geboren wird, studiert
nach dem Abitur Chemie und Pharmazie und schließt mit der Promotion ab. 1905 gründet er in Bielefeld eine chemisch-pharmazeutische Fabrik unter dem Namen „Sudbracker Nährmittelwerke Vinces“ und setzt damit seine lang gehegte Idee von einer fabrikmäßigen Herstellung von Arzneimitteln um. Er wird als ein zupackender, weltoffener Geschäftsmann mit dem richtigen Gespür für Marken und Werbung beschrieben.

1928

Von Beginn an bildet die intensive wissenschaftliche Forschung die Grundlage für alle Produktentwicklungen. So entdeckt die Dr. Wolff-Forschung 1928 die heilende Wirkung von Teer, Schwefel und Salicylsäure für Haut, Kopfhaut und Haar.

1930
1912

Die lateinische Bezeichnung „Vinces“ (Du wirst siegen) aus dem Unternehmensnamen wird auch als Markenzeichen für verschiedene Produkte verwendet: „Sub hoc signo vinces!“ (Unter diesem Zeichen wirst du siegen!). Die Geburtsstunde des ersten Logos.

1905

Der Apotheker Dr. August Wolff gründet in Bielefeld die „Sudbracker Nährmittelwerke Vinces“. In den Anfangsjahren werden unter anderem Hustensaft, Lebertran und Tees produziert. Ein großer Erfolg: das eisenhaltige Aufbaupräparat Hämatopan.